Home › Recordings

Lift Every Voice! Honoring the African American Musical Legacy
Honor! Festival companion CD

LIFT EVERY VOICE! is a two-CD, 21-track musical retrospective featuring historic live performances and studio recordings by an array of great African American artists who have performed at Carnegie Hall and contributed to the rich cultural history of music. This project covers a diverse cross-section of genres from gospel to swing, classical to contemporary, and spiritual to jazz, and serves as an audio companion to Carnegie Hall’s festival Honor! A Celebration of the African American Cultural Legacy, taking place in March 2009.

Lift Every Voice
Price:   $25.00
(includes shipping, handling,
and tax where applicable)

Add to Cart

Disc 1:
  1. Matilda (Norman Spann)-Harry Belafonte
  2. Ol' Man River (Jerome Kern, Oscar Hammerstein)-Paul Robeson
  3. On Children (Ysaye M. Barnwell)-Sweet Honey in the Rock
  4. Move On Up A Little Higher (Rev. W.H. Brewster)-Mahalia Jackson
  5. So What (Miles Davis)-Miles Davis
  6. "Let The Bright Seraphim" from Samson (Handel)-Wynton Marsalis & Kathleen Battle
  7. Du Bist Die Ruh' (Schubert)-Roland Hayes
  8. "Erbarme dich" from St. Matthew's Passion (Bach)-Marian Anderson
  9. Un bel dì from Madama Butterfly (Puccini)-Leontyne Price
  10. Die Nachtigall (A. Berg)-Jessye Norman & Pierre Boulez
Disc 2:
  1. A House Is Not A Home(Burt Bacharach, Hal David)-Luther Vandross
  2. Night In Tunisia (Dizzy Gillespie, Frank Paparelli)-Dizzy Gillespie
  3. Come Sunday - Part IV-Mahalia Jackson & Duke Ellington
  4. Come Home (Andrae Crouch)-Andrae Crouch
  5. Ain't No Sunshine (Bill Withers)-Bill Withers
  6. A Tisket A Tasket (V. Alexander, E. Fitzgerald)-Ella Fitzgerald
  7. 99 Miles from LA (A. Hammond, H. David)-Johnny Mathis
  8. Guess Who I Saw Today (M. Grand, E. Boyd)-Nancy Wilson
  9. Soulville (Aretha Franklin)-Aretha Franklin
  10. I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel To Be Free (Billy Taylor)-Nina Simone

Honor! A Celebration of the African American Cultural Legacy - Companion CD

This two-CD set was created in direct collaboration with Jessye Norman. The first CD features timeless recordings from throughout Miss Norman's, while the second celebrates a diverse list of musical icons, including Louis Armstrong, Dee Dee Bridgewater, Ella Fitzgerald, and Sarah Vaughan.

Honor! Companion CD
Price:   $25.00
(includes shipping, handling,
and tax where applicable)

Add to Cart

Disc 1 (Jessye Norman, Soprano):
  1. I Couldn't Hear Nobody Pray (Traditional)
  2. Steal Away (Traditional)
  3. Träume from Wesendonck Lieder (Wagner)
  4. Somewhere from West Side Story (Bernstein)
  5. O, by and by from A Child of Our Time (Tippett)
  6. Galathea from Cabaret Songs (Schoenberg)
  7. My Lord, What a Morning (Traditional)
  8. There's A Man Going Round (Traditional)
  9. Der Erlkönig, D. 328 (Schubert)
  10. Ave Maria (Schubert)
  11. Wiegenlied, op. 41/1 (R. Strauss)
  12. Great Day (Traditional)
  13. With a Song in My Heart from Spring is Here (Rodgers)
  14. Beim Schlafengehen from The Four Last Songs (R. Strauss)
Disc 2:
  1. Praise God - Duke Ellington featuring Harry Carney
  2. Heaven - Duke Ellington featuring Alice Babs & Johnny Hodges
  3. Meditation - Duke Ellington
  4. Good Morning, Heartache - Billie Holiday
  5. Willow Weep for Me - Dinah Washington
  6. Speak Low - Sarah Vaughan
  7. Bloomdido - Charlie Parker with Dizzy Gillespie & Thelonius Monk
  8. KC Blues - Charlie Parker with Miles Davis
  9. Mood Indigo - Coleman Hawkins & Duke Ellington
  10. They Can't Take That Away From Me - Louis Armstrong & Ella Fitzgerald
  11. Four Women - Dee Dee Bridgewater

© 2001–2009 Carnegie Hall Corporation

Jessye Norman